However, there have been some arguments about this award. An agreement between India and Bangladesh was signed on 16 May 1974 and a solution to the dispute was decided. India and Bangladesh have a common border of about 4096.7 kilometres. The land border between the Indian border and then eastern Pakistan was determined by the 1974 Radcliffe Prize. Popular beliefs suggest that chhits/enclaves – or in other words, fragments of earth – were created when the maharajah of Cooch Behar and the Foujdar of Rangpur played the villages of the other. The division of India in 1947 led to a delicate situation among the inhabitants of these scattered lands; they paid income to one state, but were surrounded by the territory of another. The border drawn by Sir Radcliffe, which was based on a few loose maps, dictated the fate of millions of people who guessed landlocked without knowing it. [5] This led to the creation of enclaves that belonged to Cooch Behar but were surrounded by eastern Pakistan; These became later Indian territory. As a result, the enclaves of the rank-and-a-side zamindars, which were surrounded by Cooch Behar, became Pakistani territory.

In 2011, a protocol was signed between the two countries. In accordance with this agreement, it was decided that the residents of the border would not be displaced or relocated. However, due to various factors, the agreement did not progress and both countries decided to maintain the status quo. The country-border agreement was signed on 16 May 1974 between Indira Gandhi and Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, which provided for the exchange of enclaves and the surrender of unfavourable possessions. [17] As part of the agreement, India maintained the Berubari Union Enclave No. 12, while Bangladesh retained the enclaves of Dahagram – Angorpota and India, giving a corridor of 178 meters by 85 × m, called the bigha Tin corridor. Bangladesh quickly ratified the agreement in 1974, but India did not. The issue of the unsupervised land border of about 6.1 kilometers in three areas – Daikhata-56 in West Bengal, Muhuri River-Belonia in Tripura and Lathitila-Dumabari in Assam . The Tin Bigha Corridor was leased in Bangladesh in 1992 under local opposition. [3] According to a popular legend, centuries ago, enclaves were used as stakes in card or chess games between two regional kings, the Raja of Koch Bihar and the Maharadja of Rangpur. [3] As far as the historical archives are concerned, the small territories were apparently the result of a confused result of a contract between the kingdom of Koch Bihar and the Mughal Empire of 1713. Perhaps the kingdom and the moguls ended a war without setting a limit for the territories that had been won or lost.

[15] LBA 2015 was signed in Bangladesh on 6 June 2015. [1] The historic agreement facilitated the transfer of 111 enclaves from India to Bangladesh at 17,160.63 hectares. In contrast, India received 51 enclaves, or 7,110.02 hectares in Bangladesh (see annexes 1 and 2). Prior to this historic agreement, the protocol signed in 2011 between Manmohan Singh (India) and Sheikh Hasina (Bangladesh) was agreed, maintaining the status quo in dealing with the issue of unfavourable land holdings, with India receiving 2,777,038 hectares of Land from Bangladesh (see Appendix 3) and transferring 2,267,682 hectares of land to Bangladesh (see Appendix 4). [2] The 2011 Protocol was established in agreement with the governments of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and West Bengal, but could not be implemented due to adverse political circumstances.